Release Date and Other Fun Stuff

Well met, writers and story nerds! Yes, I’ll still be writing a real post later this week (probably a rant about some animated dinosaur movie), but I have so many good updates that I can share right now.

Firstly, I have an official release date for Alen’s War!

Untitled

FYI, my release dates are always written in American format because I’m American and like to keep it consistent, therefore the book comes out July 1, not 6 January. I know you are all very smart people and probably figured that out, but I don’t like confusion. And yes, that’s the overall design which will probably become the cover. Maybe. I make no promises.

And what in the world is happening with the book Alen’s War itself? Well, I plan to send the “final” draft to my beta readers on May 15, and perhaps I can even finalize the cover while awaiting their wailing and gnashing of teeth helpful feedback. This of course means that in the interim I will share some more snippets, and hopefully all my incomparable blog readers will give me advice on cover design. Goodness knows I need it at this point.

Ah. Now that we have that over with, I have two blog recommendationsMy dear younger brother Josh has started a blog, MadeofBlox, about Legos, Minecraft, and anything else that’s, er, made of blocks. But even if you, like me, aren’t into that sort of thing, you certainly like lots of pictures and lighthearted commentaries from a perfect young gentleman. So click the link and read some of Josh’s stuff! I know some of you already have. You are awesome. 

And my writing colleague E.J.W. has a blog of her own, too. Do you like writing, recipes, Narnia memes, movie reviews, or honest encouragement about how God is still working in the world? Then check out Chokmah&Kishron. This week she is kindly introducing us to her good friend Shakespeare, which of course will include a laugh or two.

Next, an opinion poll. I’ve been tinkering with the idea of starting my own video podcast in which I talk about movies, books, plot structure, MBTI, and of course villains. But, before I make a decision, I need to know what all you incomparable blog readers and writers think. Would you be interested in something of that ilk? Please do share your advice in the comments!

Finally, a post worth readingTen Essential Big Family Skills from writefury. I have a large family myself, as you know if you read my mom’s blog, and I only discovered this post today and fell in love with it- if you can fall in love with any funny-but-true post. Just go read it if you haven’t already. There is nothing more perfect.

Happy Sunday, and see you next week!

8 thoughts on “Release Date and Other Fun Stuff

  1. I vote for the Video Podcast!!!! I think it’s a splendid idea!
    As for the cover I’ll throw in my two pence. I absolutely adore the font used for Allen’s cover! That needs to be a keep! But because this is another book written by the Amazing You! I think it would be cool to create another shield, like you did for Son of Ren, but change the design to reflect the moments in Allen’s War.

    Like

    • Nice ideas, Elly! My mom actually suggested the same shield idea for Alen’s War. We’ll see what tips everyone can come up with, and then maybe I’ll share some prototype designs on the blog.

      Like

  2. I really like the cover for Alen’s War. The font is awesome. (Thanks for the heads up about the American dates; I probably wouldn’t have picked up on that one.) I am definitely for the Video Podcast. And now I will go and check out those blogs. 🙂

    Like

    • Thanks for your tips! Oh, no problem; some of my favorite authors live in England or Australia, and they don’t always clarify which format they use. 🙂

      Like

Comments are closed.