The Fall of Fashionable Platonism

Note: I will say a few things in this article with which you may disagree. If at any time your feelings are hurt by anything I say, feel free to click the red “x” box in the top right of your browser. It will make the offending text go away. Thank you.

Frodo and sam

Well. So far, the twenty-first century has been a remarkable one. We have witnessed the rise of stupidity on a level rarely seen since the days of the Roman Empire. We have seen the downfall of common sense as proved by this court case and mindless outrage as in this story, and soon we may even see a megalomaniac elected as the primary leader of our nation. To quote Emily Dickinson, “Much madness is divinest sense.”

But this lack of circumspection isn’t limited to the stage of politics. No, fellow writers, we have officially seen the downfall of platonism in fiction. Allow me to prove it. I just did a quick Bing search for keywords “frodo and sam,” and six out of fourteen links had to do with whether their friendship was more than a friendship.

Six out of fourteen.

Okay, people. Anybody who knows the first thing about Tolkien knows that he would stand staunchly against homosexuality and other such unnatural relationships. Tolkien was a boldly conservative Roman Catholic with strong evangelical ideas that he didn’t hush up. If he really would go so far as to deny everything the Bible and the contemporary English culture said about homosexuality, he would have shouted his opinion from the rooftops of Rohan and Gondor. Believe me, if any of his characters was gay, it would be obvious, as in the case of Baron Harkonnen in Frank Herbert’s Dune. (If you don’t believe that, go re-read the chapter where he made a woman defeat the witch-king.) No way around it; Frodo and Sam were friends and nothing more.

Quick definition: friends (frendz)- people who show loyalty to each other on the basis of mutual affection. 

At this point, a lot of readers may claim that it was the fault of Tolkien and other authors for not being clear enough about the difference between agape, philos, and eros in their fiction. They might even cite a prestigious quote like this one:

Don’t write simply to be understood. Write so that you cannot possibly be misunderstood. -Robert Louis Stevenson

But these people are again reading themselves into the text. While Stevenson does make a good point about how writers should be able to write properly, we should never take this guideline out of context. He was referring to word choice- choose a strong, vivid word over a vague, passive one that leaves people bewildered. He was not talking about illiteracy that supports certain lifestyle choices. The person who would twist Stevenson’s words to that extent has no right to call him/herself a reader.

Even if Tolkien had failed to spell out the most important concepts in his books (which is an utterly outlandish claim), it is the fault of the reader, not the writer, for reading a bias into the story. No author can possibly anticipate and dispel every single lie that might be perpetrated about their work. It is the author’s job to write well and expect that readers will read well.

Yet people often don’t allow themselves to understand. If they want to believe something, they will believe it, even if it means ignoring the truth. Think about it: conservationists could always say that “The Mark on the Wall” is a satirical censure of graffiti and other defacing of natural landmarks, or abortionists can insist that “A Modest Proposal” was meant to be taken literally. Frankly, I’m surprised that nobody has tried either of those approaches yet. But none of these claims actually makes it the truth; indeed, anyone with basic comprehension skills can understand that the authors had no such intent in mind.

I may make jokes about how I’m afraid that people will ship my characters, but that is true to some extent. I am honestly nervous about any of my books becoming popular because I don’t want to think about the day when readers insist that the relationship between Elkay and Ramilon was anything but platonic. I never intended it to be more than a friendship, but some people will always try to twist my words. And that is not fair.

At the end of the day, I am calling everyone out- myself included. Don’t read yourself or your opinions into a book that is talking about something completely different. I promised myself a long time ago that I would not juxtapose Christianity, pro-life, or any of my other beliefs into a book written to support other ideas, and I know that everyone would certainly support that commitment. Well, they must get rid of the double standard, and keep their ideas out of my book. If someone really need to find support for one’s choices in a fictional work, they ought to go find someone who writes pro-gay fiction. But never come whining to me or to Tolkien for it.

No matter what our worldviews, I think that we can agree this far: we all should be able to say what we like without readers twisting our words. Read what the author wrote, not what you want to hear. And if no author has yet written what you want to read… then just write it yourself.

Have you seen the downfall of platonic reading? Why do you think it is happening? Can we writers stop it?

20 thoughts on “The Fall of Fashionable Platonism

  1. I like the way you phrased that— “And if no author has yet written what you want to read… then just write it yourself”. 🙂 It really is sad the way people will cling to feeble threads in an effort to make everything…including books and songs for CHILDREN…look controversial. Six out of fourteen…I will be honest: that is just madness.

    Like

    • That’s right. I think the most frustrating example is the children’s songs that people manipulate. Kids don’t need to debate adult issues.

      Like

  2. Can I like this more than once?
    Seriously, spot-on, Hannah. Everything in this very much needed to be said.
    Gosh, the homosexual shipping bugs me so much. I love the guy friendships in fiction so much and so many people try and twist it.

    Like

    • Haha, thanks, writefury. 🙂
      I know; manly friendships can be so sweet and touching, and they don’t need to be ruined by political agendas.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. It is the same with Steve Rogers and Bucky Barnes. People think what they want to and don’t listen to what Marvel meant by their friendship. Even though Marvel has spoken on the subject, people do not listen.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Thank you SO much for writing on this topic Hannah!!!! You’re totally on it! I had no idea that so many people were twisting Sam and Frodo like that! (Sick :P)
    “We have witnessed the rise of stupidity on a level rarely seen since the days of the Roman Empire.”
    That. Is. Perfect.

    Like

    • Yeah, it’s sadly true. In some ways, I think, it might be better not to know about such things. I felt sick about some of the fanfiction I discovered on some old LotR sites.

      Like

      • It is hard. I struggle with my doubts whenever I hear my parents talking about how to world is going. I begin to wonder how far things like this will go. But I believe the people (like us) who realize what’s going on and accept blunt reality can make a difference! I like the quote Victoria NighSky said, “Be the change you want to see in the world.”

        Like

        • I feel that way, too, sometimes, but humanity is not ultimately where we put our faith. The world will only continue to get worse as a result of sin, and we as Christians have something much better to look forward to even after the world ends. 😉

          Liked by 2 people

  5. Yes, yes, yes, YES! Thank you so much for writing this article.
    And right on about the rise of stupidity…It’s quite sad, even depressing. 😦

    Like

  6. YES YES YES.
    I get so sick and tired when I see people taking two platonic friends in a book.movie and starting to romantically ship them. (Like Poe and Finn. Whaaaa? pukes) I’m all for more platonic, intimate relationships (even between a guy and a girl! I don’t know why people limit relationships between opposite genders to be only romantic) in stories. And I’ve set it as a goal for myself as a writer to do that. “Be the change you want to see in the world” they say, or something like that.

    Like

    • Victoria, you hit on not one but two points that I hope to write about soon. First, platonic guy-girl friendships are just as edifying as same-gender friendships. Second, we writers are some of the people who can set big changes in motion. Thanks for sharing your thoughts!

      Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.