Reblog: what to do when {you think} your writing sucks.

I don’t often reblog posts, but this one from inklings press was too good to pass up. You know how how it feels when you want to give up on writing? Ashley has some thoughts on that.

inklings press

I don’t claim to be a good writer.  In fact, whenever a new review shows up on my book’s page on Goodreads or Amazon, I instinctively think, Go read something better!!! before making myself read the review.

I don’t write every day.  When I do NaNo, it takes me months to finish the story (or, in the pathetic case of Sneakers and Hot Fudge Sundaes, I get to the second-to-last chapter, completely lose faith in the story, and never finish).  I haven’t worked on The Art of Letting Go since like May (and I’m trying to resign myself to the fact that I’ll probably have to put it away ’til next year).  More often than not, I feel like my writing is terrible.  More often than not, I feel like every hour-long writing session needs a month-long revision session.

This is probably why I’ve never really posted any writing advice…

View original post 513 more words

2 thoughts on “Reblog: what to do when {you think} your writing sucks.

Your thoughts?

