Video Week: Music, Plus a Little Writing

reactions hello hi the princess bride inigo montoya

Another Video Week post! Hooray!

But before we get to the videos, a little sneak peak gift for you: March 13-20, you can get the Alen’s War ebook for free as part of the Indie e-Con Book Awards. How awesome is that? So now you can get totally hyped for free books.

Now on to the video thingies. And this week we have (drumroll)… music?

Look, I promise not to fall into the stereotype of “blogger who shares a bunch of music every once in awhile.” But this week I’ve been watching mostly historical documentaries about the darkest chapters of the USSR, and I’m pretty sure y’all wouldn’t appreciate that sort of thing. So instead, I give you a bunch of music- and I just might have a few storytelling things at the end. Stay tuned!

New Beginnings

I’ve never seen Iron Man 3, nor do I plan to in the foreseeable future (and I’ve been told I have great foresight). But when did that ever stop me from listening to Brian Tyler’s unforgettably epic scores?

Star Wars Cello Medley

You are all entitled to know that I love Star Wars music almost as much as I love cellos. In light of this, behold: a new favorite music YouTuber of mine.

Viva La Vida (Aston)

Just watch.

SHERlocked

Yes, I listened to all of the Sherlock season scores in a week. But it was a long week.

The Evil Overlord

Look at that, we finally get some writing stuff! I can keep a promise after all. Honestly, Kingdom Pen Cinema is so underrated, and that’s because practically no one in the writing world knows of its existence. And I think it’s time to remedy that.

And yes, we “expert” authors already know a thing or two about Character Archetypes and Stereotypes- so what? This series is great for newer writers (even VYWs), and everyone can use a bit of a refresher. And if all else fails, we can laugh at the literary references. Enjoy a study of the Evil Overlord:

Until next time, fare ye well!

7 thoughts on “Video Week: Music, Plus a Little Writing

  1. Oooohhh cool post! A free eBook and awesome music?! does it get any better?
    Mind if I ask why you don’t want to watch Iron Man 3? It’s like the best Iron Man movie they made so far (well in my opinion anyways, most people say the first is the best).

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Yessir, I have all the goodies this week!

    For Iron Man 3, I guess the simplest reason is that I’m not a fan of Tony Stark himself. 🙂 My dad (who loves Iron Man) didn’t like the threequel, so I was never really interested in seeing it anyway.

    Now I’m curious though- why do you think 3 the best? Is it a plot thing, or maybe the characters? I have noticed that MCU movies tend to get better with time, but obvs I have no frame of reference for this trilogy.

    Like

    • Okay then that makes sense why you don’t want to see it
      I guess the main reason I like it is because of the characters. See Iron Man comics are usually on the more serious side of things (or at lest the comic line this movie seems to be taken from) and in the previous Iron Man movies they had more of a serious side to them. While Iron man 3 was full of funny surprises, especially when you see Tony fighting (figuratively of course) with a 12 year old. They also played Iron Man 3 as a fight with the Mandarin (Iron Man’s main baddy) but as it turns out (not spoiling anything) who we thought was the main bad guy wasn’t. Overall I like it because we see more of the sarcastic Tony that we see in the Avengers. And I like the sarcastic Tony more than the serious Tony.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Oh, I see. Yes, I appreciated the Tony humor in Civil War, especially in his interactions with our young Spiderman. 🙂 That’s one of the prominent strengths of the Marvel universe- put these unique, wacky characters together, and you’ve got some classic humor.

        Like

    • Yay for free books!!! I have been wanting to read yours since I first heard of it but have not had the chance yet, so this is AWESOME!!! anxiously waiting for the 13th

      I don’t like Iron Man either, but I do have to agree with Marrok, Iron Man 3 is the best of the 3 (in my opinion. But like Marrok… I am also a comic geek…. so that probably has something to do with it;). But I do understand why some people don’t like it (especially if they are BIG Iron Man fans [like one of my friends. Got totally mad at Iron Man 3. It was funny to watch their reaction, almost as much as it was to watch the movie]). However, that said, it was probably the funniest Iron Man movie to date (but there are some viewer cautions for this one [but that is to be expected with Iron Man anyway]).

      Liked by 1 person

      • Yay, now I’m happy too! 😄 I hope you love the book. I’ll have a post up on the 13th with more linky things and details for you.

        LOL, that sounds like some of my more purist friends watching The Lord of the Rings. It’s always great when filmmakers score a hit with the dedicated comic book fans.

        Like

        • YAY! Looking forward to that post on the 13th! =D

          I think the movie that scored the most with fans was Batman vs. Superman… but everyone else seemed to hate it =/ …kinda funny really ;p

          Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.