APRIL FOOLS!-An Announcement and a Formal Apology

I owe all of my blog readers an apology.

What can I say? Until a few days ago, I had always been prejudiced against vampire romances and such. I had always been reading so-called “Christian” or “family-friendly” reviews that slammed these sorts of novels, accusing them of writing flat characters and dark themes, not to mention all the other sticky content which parents are so overprotective about. In my blind state, I had promised myself that I would never read any vampire novel. At last, though, I finally sat down and read Twilight.

It changed my life.

Never before have I seen such poetry, such art, such beauty as in the Twilight trilogy. The concept was earth-shattering. The election of the story was superb. The characterization was the finest that I have ever seen. Bella is now a role model of mine, and Edward… oh, Edward, he was sooooo bae. I want to cry just thinking about it. As soon as I finished the last page of Breaking Dawn and closed the book, I had been challenged. I could never hope to write to such a level of excellence, but I could make it my life-goal to try. Farewell, epic and science fantasy. Paranormal romance, here I come!

So I am sorry, blog readers, for preparing such harsh judgments about vampire stories and other Gothic novels without giving them a fair chance. No genre should be subjected to such discrimination. I am going to change my life for the better. No more Tolkien or Austen for me; it’s vampires all the way now.

But, as Rafiki says, “the journey of a thousand miles begins with the first foot.” For my first foot, I decided that I’d join Camp NaNoWriMo and write my first pitiful attempt at the art of paranormal romance. Because I can. So the verdict is in, and I am writing vampire romance based on Charlotte Bronte’s Jane Eyre.

I can’t tell you much about it, but I can tell you that there will be vampires, werewolves, fairies, and all other sorts of fantastic beasts, that it is set in a little rainy town in Germany, and that Dracula just might have a cameo appearance. We’ll see, I guess. The story is also inspired in part by the metaphysical dissertations of Charles Lutwidge Dodgeson and Mary Ann Evans in the eighteenth century, so it will be a blast.

Now, of course, I have never read Jane Eyre, but who cares? Everyone knows the story. Anyway, if a book isn’t a paranormal romance- and Jane Eyre is not- it was never worth reading.

Before you comment, fellow writers, you should know one more thing… 

APRIL FOOLS.

You didn’t really believe I would do such a thing, did you?

5 thoughts on “APRIL FOOLS!-An Announcement and a Formal Apology

Your thoughts?